• Short breaks available
  • Award winning conversion
  • Gas & electricity included
  • Welcome pack
  • Linen and towels included
  • Wi-Fi 9 MB download
  • Cot & high chair available
  • Sorry but no pets
  • Regret no smoking in the mill
  • Flexible Changeover Days
  • Personally managed by the owners
The Old Windmill,Self Catering
5.0Out of 5100% of guests recommend

Guest Reviews

Our guests who book online receive an email after their holiday from ‘Up Front Reviews’.
If they wish to they can respond with guest reviews.
https://www.upfrontreviews.com/reviews/1895/the-old-windmill/the-old-windmill,self-catering/20471/

We are really proud to now have over 200 Up Front reviews!

Here is a selection of recent guest reviews:

Review 21st Sept 2020.  Karen.
Great property with everything you need and more. Ideal location for exploring the area. Very thoughtful welcome treats from excellent hosts.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020.  Joanne.
Brilliant place to stay for my husbands 50th birthday weekend. Full of character – loved it and would definitely return.

Review 4th August 2020.  Jenna.
We stayed a week in this beautiful windmill and fell in love. The owners have created a beautiful holiday haven.
There is so much to do in the local area. We were less than 30mins from beautiful beaches, boat hire on the Broads and days out for the family. A 2 minute walk away an old railway line provides beautiful access to the countryside.
The windmill itself has WiFi, a smart TV and a fab kitchen. We used the BBQ twice and enjoyed nights out under the stars spotting the International Space Station.
Bedding, towels and even beach towels were all provided.
I’m a nurse and this was my first week off in a year. It was a much needed family break that exceeded all expectations. So much so we have rebooted for a weekend in November.
Thank you x

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020.  Anne.
A beautiful place and wonderful location.Very special.We were made to feel extremely welcome. We shall certainly recommend this to everyone. A perfect holiday. Thank you. 5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020.  Anita.
We were on tenterhooks…will the Lockdown rules change in time to allow us to stay in the Windmill….luckily they did- and we were the first guests of the summer of 2020.
The Windmill is a perfect place for a family holiday. Beautifully decorated and furnished, well equipped kitchen and good showers. As the brochure says- you only need to pack your personal items and clothes…but as usual, I took everything I thought I would need …I can assure future visitors that you don’t need to take the kitchen sink…they have two….and a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher, two fridges and a freezer …washing tablets/dishwasher tablets are provided!
Lots of lovely touches like milk, cake, biscuits and fresh raspberries provided on our arrival. Janet and Tim are excellent hosts and give you an orientation tour to show you how everything works and give information about the town and local attractions.
The Windmill is a short walk from the pretty town. Lots of interesting shops- a good butchers and a nice tea shop in the town square- parking is free. A Budgen supermarket with its own carpark just off the square.
Definitely booking for next year as we want to try out the BBQ and sit in the garden to drink the local Blackshuck gin…it rained solidly all week…but the gin still tastes good indoors and the sausages cooked perfectly under the grill.
5/5.

Review 13th Jan 2020.  Anita.
A beautifully kept holiday home.
We really enjoyed our stay. How many people have had the experience of holidaying in a windmill? We found that everything we needed was provided as well as some welcome treats. The beds and sofas were comfortable. The whole layout worked very well. The town of Aylsham were it is situated is a charming place with many independent shops. There are many attractions in the local area, our favourite being the National Trust’s Blickling estate. Very welcoming, kind, and professional owners. A great holiday!

Review 4th Jan 2020.  Marilyn.
65th Birthday stay at this beautiful Windmill in Aylsham and will always remember this holiday.
We had the most amazing time staying at this beautiful windmill. Janet and Tim gave us a very warm welcome and surprised us with lovely gifts such as Prosecco, chocolates and cake. The windmill is very clean and nicely decorated and furnished and there is everything you need for a perfect stay. The kitchen has all the gadgets you need, the bedrooms were lovely and warm and the bathrooms were spotless. The village is pretty and an ideal location to visit Norwich and Cromer and I had to see the Redwings horse/donkey sanctuary which is a short walk from the windmill. I would love to go back in the Summer and stay there. If you want something different please stay here.I have not stopped thinking about the windmill and I wish I lived there.

Review 21 Nov 2019. Pat.
Another brilliant stay. Everything is there that you need at this lovingly restored windmill. Good location for a short walk into Aylsham and surrounding places to visit. 5/5.

Review 14 Nov 2019. Pav.
Lovely stay in Norfolk.
We stayed for a long weekend in November as an extended family including a toddler and two grandparents. The stay was fantastic – Tim & Janet were super welcoming and friendly, the windmill was spotless and in great condition and we stayed toasty warm inside during some chilly weather. The property is 10-15 minutes’ walk from the centre of town and we enjoyed some takeaways as well as having everything on hand to cook that we needed. Aylsham has a good size Tesco’s so we didn’t need to bring lots with us. There were also a number of books, games and DVDs in the windmill, and having access to Netflix and iPlayer on the TV was great. There were two dedicated parking spots for us. I struggle to think of anything that could have been done to make our stay any better – Tim & Janet do such a good job and the property is lovely, highly recommended! 4.8/5.

Review 28th Oct 2019. Gaynor.
Home from home.
We have stayed at the Mill many times over the years and it is our preferred holiday accommodation in Norfolk. Tim and Janet are the perfect hosts and provide everything you need for a perfect holiday. Lots of little extras in the kitchen and bathroom make your stay even more enjoyable. We will be going back there again and again.  5/5.

Review 17th Oct 2019. Diane.
We go away somewhere every year, just us three “girls” and always try to find something slightly different every time. The Windmill did not disappoint. It is a really lovely place with everything you should need and more. So much so, that we curled up on the three comfy sofas and watched a film on the Sunday afternoon, so we could get the most of the Windmill and rather than be out and about all the time and not take advantage of the Mill. The owners son works / runs one of the local pubs and due to our long drive did us a takeaway for a our first night – perfect. The location is great for the North and North East coast, where we visited Horsey to see so so many seals on the beach with them being within 10 metres of us and probably a couple of hundred of them. Amazing. The shopping in Sheringham and Holt was lovely not a high street shop insight all small independent shops with many lovely things. (Don’t tell the other half though ;)) Janet was a great host and was very helpful, nothing to much trouble. All in all a great weekend. 5/5.

Review 1st Oct 2019. Sarah.
Lovely base for an activity holiday.
The hosts were easy to contact, full of information to help us make the best of our short stay and included a generous welcome pack. The rooms were well equipped and in very good condition, with good outside space. The building and neighbourhood views are worth a trip in themselves, and this is also an excellent location for cycling and walking paths.  5/5.

Review 17th Sept 2019.  David.
Great place, great fun, good Base for visiting North Norfolk.
We loved the windmill! Ground floor utility/freezer room; 1st floor spacious kitchen/lounge; 2nd floor two bedrooms; 3rd floor king bedroom…great fun racing up and down the spiraling stairs! You get your own offroad parking spot right outside the windmill door. Days out to Wells, Cromer, Norwich and the coast so easy. Lovely hosts Tim and Janet live adjacent and were most helpful. Recommend The Black Boys Hotel in the town (Aylsham) for food, beer and atmosphere, only 10 minutes walk away. Comes with everything you need, all high quality. Its height and solidity make you feel like you’re in a mini castle!  4.8/5.

Review 28th Aug 2019. Gillian.
A special place.
We stayed in the Windmill for four days with family who were visiting from Canada. We thought it would be something special to do and it truly was. Our hosts were charming and so welcoming and they had thought of absolutely everything to make our stay perfect. The welcoming ‘goodies’ were particularly appreciated after our journey. The decor and furnishings were in pristine condition and we had a really comfortable stay. We definitely hope to return in the future.  5/5

Review submitted Saturday 6th July 2019. Anthony.
A unique experience.  A fantastic place to stay with everything you could possibly need. Great location with some great pubs / restaurants only minutes away. Tim and Janet were very approachable and left us to it. Great value for money. Highly recommended. Aylsham Windmill is a credit to them.  5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019.
The Old Windmill is a great place to stay, has everything you need and just in the right location to see the numerous attractions of the area. It’s a unique experience, which everybody enjoyed, even my 17 year old son didn’t mind not having the internet access he normally has, instead taking the opportunity to play board games. We saw everything in the area we planned to and some more, yet there is still more to see and do, would definitely hire again next time we want to visit Norfolk.  5/5.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
Such a unique beautifully restored property. Extremely well equipped and Ideally situated for a holiday/break in the Norfolk Broads. The hosts, Janet and Tim, made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, they even left us treats to enjoy when we arrived. We had an amazing time and loved every minute or our stay in the Windmill. We will definitely be recommending it to all our friends and family and hopefully will be back again soon. 5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
We recently stayed at the windmill with some friends to celebrate our respective husbands special birthdays and what a special place it was.
Handy for walking into the town of Aylsham, lovely informative museum next to the church, great meal at the Black Boy pub.
The windmill, itself was wonderful, lovingly and beautifully restored and had everything you would need provided. A really nice touch was the bottle of prosecco and chocolates left by the owners to help us celebrate the birthdays.
I highly recommend a stay here, it is suitable for family and friends get togethers or just a quiet getaway for two near the Norfolk coast.
Plenty of things to do in the area ie: National Trust properties, Bure Railway or go to the coast.
We will definitely be going back .
The experience should be on everybody’s bucket list.   5/5.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
Excellent accommodation, owners have thought of everything and supplied every gadget you could possibly need.
Loved the games of finding the grey fur mouse etc – a lovely touch which I am sure adults and children alike would love!!
The welcome pack including wine and cake was much appreciated also
All in all a lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.  5/5

An idyllic stay in beautiful accommodation.  Cara 30/07/18

We had such a lovely stay here, from the ease of booking, super communication and arriving at the windmill everything was brilliant. The place is extremely clean and they have thought of everything you might need. Each room is beautifully decorated and beds are very comfy. The location is perfect for days out with the Bure Valley train just round the corner which takes you to a boat that you can go on the Norfolk broads on. We also took a trip to Cromer beach a couple of times which has good facilities, is clean and has a great fish and chip shop. An enjoyable stay that we are already planning to repeat.  5/5

Great hospitality and facilities.     Esther  23/07/18

This was our second time staying at the Windmill and it proved to be the right choice again. The owners were friendly and helpful. The cottage was clean and cosy. Tim and Janet were very approachable and we had a BBQ together. They also offered a good choice of games and cartoons which kept the children entertained! Highly recommended!  5/5

Weekend break.    Kate  21/06/18

The windmill was perfect in every way, wish we could have stayed for longer. Will absolutely come back again.  5/5

Excellent.      Debbie  19/04/18

The old windmill is a wonderful place to stay. We have stayed three times. The owners are so welcoming, and really maintain the windmill to a high standard. There is so much to explore locally, we recently visited cromer, wroxham, bewilderwood, and aylsham.  5/5

Special place booked for a 50th birthday celebration.     Rachel 14/04/18

An exceptional place to stay with everything provided you could wish for. Tim and Janet are gracious hosts and were welcoming and helpful and were kind enough to let us arrive earlier than the allotted time.
They were also kind enough to leave some treats for our visit.
The Windmill has been refurbished to a very high standard and provides excellent comfort. Ideal base for exploring the Coast and other parts of Norfolk and if you have never visited the area before Norwich.
If you are looking for somewhere a bit different then this is the place. Would highly recommend!  5/5

Wonderful stay in a wonderful venue.  21/03/2018 Steve.
The Old Windmill has been re-developed to the highest standard – quality is everywhere – to provide ideal, and unique, family accommodation. All rooms are attractive and comfortable, and every facility is provided.
The Old Windmill has been re-developed to the highest standard – quality is everywhere – to provide ideal, and unique, family accommodation. All rooms are attractive and comfortable, and every facility is provided.  5/5

‘Windymiller’ Sue 08/03/2018
Saved from a fate worse than 4 people being bedless…Janet and Tim came to the rescue on the snowy weekend of 2.2.18.Very clean comfortable and different,quiet and warm…right up our street.  5/5

Something different. Alex  25/02/2018
We had a great four days in the windmill, one of the nicest, quirkiest places we have stayed at. Weather not great but it didn’t matter. Our kids loved it too. Will definitely go again, and recommend to others. Owners very nice to!   5/5

A true credit to British history.  Anne  19/02/2018
A very unique and special place to stay. Extremely well maintained with everything you could require for a break. Attention to detail is evident in the fixtures and fittings. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking to experience a special break. 5/5

You can add a review to our Google Places page too, if you have a Google account :

http://bit.ly/2zx5QiV

Follow us on

  • Facebook
  • Twitter