• Short breaks available
  • Award winning conversion
  • Gas & electricity included
  • Welcome pack
  • Linen and towels included
  • Wi-Fi 9 MB download
  • Cot & high chair available
  • Sorry but no pets
  • Regret no smoking in the mill
  • Flexible Changeover Days
  • Personally managed by the owners
The Old Windmill,Self Catering
5.0Out of 5100% of guests recommend

Guest Reviews

Our guests who book online receive an email after their holiday from ‘Up Front Reviews’.
If they wish to they can respond with guest reviews.

We are really proud to now have over 180 reviews!

Here is a selection of recent guest reviews:

Review submitted Saturday 6th July 2019.
A unique experience.  A fantastic place to stay with everything you could possibly need. Great location with some great pubs / restaurants only minutes away. Tim and Janet were very approachable and left us to it. Great value for money. Highly recommended. Aylsham Windmill is a credit to them.  5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019.
The Old Windmill is a great place to stay, has everything you need and just in the right location to see the numerous attractions of the area. It’s a unique experience, which everybody enjoyed, even my 17 year old son didn’t mind not having the internet access he normally has, instead taking the opportunity to play board games. We saw everything in the area we planned to and some more, yet there is still more to see and do, would definitely hire again next time we want to visit Norfolk.  5/5.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
Such a unique beautifully restored property. Extremely well equipped and Ideally situated for a holiday/break in the Norfolk Broads. The hosts, Janet and Tim, made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, they even left us treats to enjoy when we arrived. We had an amazing time and loved every minute or our stay in the Windmill. We will definitely be recommending it to all our friends and family and hopefully will be back again soon. 5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
We recently stayed at the windmill with some friends to celebrate our respective husbands special birthdays and what a special place it was.
Handy for walking into the town of Aylsham, lovely informative museum next to the church, great meal at the Black Boy pub.
The windmill, itself was wonderful, lovingly and beautifully restored and had everything you would need provided. A really nice touch was the bottle of prosecco and chocolates left by the owners to help us celebrate the birthdays.
I highly recommend a stay here, it is suitable for family and friends get togethers or just a quiet getaway for two near the Norfolk coast.
Plenty of things to do in the area ie: National Trust properties, Bure Railway or go to the coast.
We will definitely be going back .
The experience should be on everybody’s bucket list.   5/5.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
Excellent accommodation, owners have thought of everything and supplied every gadget you could possibly need.
Loved the games of finding the grey fur mouse etc – a lovely touch which I am sure adults and children alike would love!!
The welcome pack including wine and cake was much appreciated also
All in all a lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.  5/5

An idyllic stay in beautiful accommodation.  Cara 30/07/18

We had such a lovely stay here, from the ease of booking, super communication and arriving at the windmill everything was brilliant. The place is extremely clean and they have thought of everything you might need. Each room is beautifully decorated and beds are very comfy. The location is perfect for days out with the Bure Valley train just round the corner which takes you to a boat that you can go on the Norfolk broads on. We also took a trip to Cromer beach a couple of times which has good facilities, is clean and has a great fish and chip shop. An enjoyable stay that we are already planning to repeat.  5/5

Great hospitality and facilities.     Esther  23/07/18

This was our second time staying at the Windmill and it proved to be the right choice again. The owners were friendly and helpful. The cottage was clean and cosy. Tim and Janet were very approachable and we had a BBQ together. They also offered a good choice of games and cartoons which kept the children entertained! Highly recommended!  5/5

Weekend break.    Kate  21/06/18

The windmill was perfect in every way, wish we could have stayed for longer. Will absolutely come back again.  5/5

Excellent.      Debbie  19/04/18

The old windmill is a wonderful place to stay. We have stayed three times. The owners are so welcoming, and really maintain the windmill to a high standard. There is so much to explore locally, we recently visited cromer, wroxham, bewilderwood, and aylsham.  5/5

Special place booked for a 50th birthday celebration.     Rachel 14/04/18

An exceptional place to stay with everything provided you could wish for. Tim and Janet are gracious hosts and were welcoming and helpful and were kind enough to let us arrive earlier than the allotted time.
They were also kind enough to leave some treats for our visit.
The Windmill has been refurbished to a very high standard and provides excellent comfort. Ideal base for exploring the Coast and other parts of Norfolk and if you have never visited the area before Norwich.
If you are looking for somewhere a bit different then this is the place. Would highly recommend!  5/5

Wonderful stay in a wonderful venue.  21/03/2018 Steve.
The Old Windmill has been re-developed to the highest standard – quality is everywhere – to provide ideal, and unique, family accommodation. All rooms are attractive and comfortable, and every facility is provided.
The Old Windmill has been re-developed to the highest standard – quality is everywhere – to provide ideal, and unique, family accommodation. All rooms are attractive and comfortable, and every facility is provided.  5/5

‘Windymiller’ Sue 08/03/2018
Saved from a fate worse than 4 people being bedless…Janet and Tim came to the rescue on the snowy weekend of 2.2.18.Very clean comfortable and different,quiet and warm…right up our street.  5/5

Something different. Alex  25/02/2018
We had a great four days in the windmill, one of the nicest, quirkiest places we have stayed at. Weather not great but it didn’t matter. Our kids loved it too. Will definitely go again, and recommend to others. Owners very nice to!   5/5

A true credit to British history.  Anne  19/02/2018
A very unique and special place to stay. Extremely well maintained with everything you could require for a break. Attention to detail is evident in the fixtures and fittings. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking to experience a special break. 5/5

Please see our link below or click for all reviews:

http://www.upfrontreviews.com/reviews/1895/the-old-windmill/the-old-windmill,self-catering/20471/

You can add a review to our Google Places page too, if you have a Google account :

http://bit.ly/2zx5QiV

Follow us on

  • Facebook
  • Twitter