• Short breaks available
  • Award winning conversion
  • Gas & electricity included
  • Welcome pack
  • Linen and towels included
  • Wi-Fi 20+ MB download
  • Cot & high chair available
  • Sorry but no pets
  • Regret no smoking in the mill
  • Flexible Changeover Days
  • Personally managed by the owners
The Old Windmill,Self Catering
5.0Out of 5100% of guests recommend

Guest Reviews

Our guests who book online receive an email after their holiday from ‘Up Front Reviews’.
If they wish to they can respond with guest reviews:  https://bit.ly/3jSzfdH
We are really proud to now have over 300 Up Front reviews!

Reviews can also be added to our Google page at: https://bit.ly/47t5rxt

Here is a selection of recent guest reviews:

Review submitted 19th Feb 2024. Katy.
5 out of 5.
Fantastic mini break! We have just returned from a short break at this lovely Windmill. We wanted to stay somewhere a bit different/quirky and Aylsham Windmill definitely delivers all that.
The owners Janet and Tim have done a fantastic renovation to the once working Mill. Spacious, comfortable accommodation throughout and spotlessly clean. Aylsham itself is a lovely village with plenty of places nearby to visit.  We would definitely return.

Review submitted 14th Feb 2024. Maureen.
5 out of 5.
A winter break. The windmill is very cosy and warm. Janet and Tim always very helpful and welcoming. It was our second visit to the windmill. Lots of lovely places to visit, Blickling Hall and Felbrigg Hall both National trust and well worth a visit. The seals at Horsey are incredible. Aylsham is a lovely little town and a short walk from the windmill.
Thank you Janet and Tim

Review submitted 31st Jan 2024. Tanya.

Family Birthday Treat. Wonderful. On arrival we were met and everything we needed to know about the windmill and equipment was explained fully. The kitchen had everything and more that you would need for your stay. Everything was clean and tidy. Attention to detail perfect. Its a long way up to the top bedroom but well worth it.
We had a wonderful 5 days. Will be returning. Aylsham town is also a very nice place. Eating at The Blind Pig recommended. Takeaway from Bonds Fish shop recommended. The antique shop definitely worth a visit.
All round a lovely place to stay and visit Norfolk from.

Review submitted 4th Jan 2024. Katherine.
5 out of 5.
The most wonderful windmill. This was without doubt the best self-catered holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in. The windmill is simply stunning – so quirky and interesting, a real home from home and the special touches the owners provide really are so thoughtful. I wish I could have stayed forever! Best holiday ever.

Review submitted 30th Dec 2023. Chris.
5 out of 5.
We (a family of four) spent our Christmas break in this delightful Windmill. Apart from the excellent condition of the property we were impressed by the “extra” provided by the owners. The location itself meant that we could walk into the lovely market town of Aylsham with Cromer, Norwich and The Broads all within an easy drive. Highly recommended for a stay at anytime in the year.

Review submitted 18th Dec 2023.  Verna.
5 out of 5.
We have reviewed The Windmill 7 times previously and can only repeat what a fabulous place this is to stay. Everything you could possibly need has been thought about and well catered for; hosts are just super and helpful. Windmill is warm, cosy, comfortable and an absolute pleasure to stay in. Aylsham itself is just beautiful, quaint and friendly. Market town with an non-intrusive Tesco superstore right on outskirts which is great. Down the road a few miles is the delightful shopping town of Holt and a couple of miles away is the National Trust “Blickling Hall” …. both a “must” to visit. Returning again December 2024 …. can’t wait. Thank you again to Janet and Tim … our hosts.

Review submitted 23rd Nov 2023. Jo.
5 out of 5.
Another amazing stay.  This was our second visit to this beautiful wind mill. The windmill has every thing you need for a home from home feeling with out being at home. We will definitely be returning it is so peaceful and pretty much central to all you need to visit in Norfolk.  A couple of lovely pubs within walking distance. PS this time I found the mouse !!!

Review submitted 19th Nov 2023. Lynne.
5 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic!  We’ve been here many times before and that says it all. Tim and Janet go over and above to provide everything that’s needed for a lovely stay. We’ve booked for next year before we left, it’s such a wonderful place. Highly recommend.

Review submitted 15th Nov 2023. Jen.
5 out of 5
Returning visitor to this quirky cool place to stay.  Spent weekend for my partners 50th birthday
Windmill is perfect unusual stay. Tim welcomed us and gave us run down of everything how it works and left us a goodies package inc a bottle of bubbly !
Has everything you need like a home from home.  Local area has lots to offer great location
We went to Cromer for day and spent the evening at Sheringham and took trip on the Christmas steam train.  Highly recommend

Review submitted 12th Nov 2023. Pat.
5 out of 5
A lovely mini break at Aylsham Windmill.  Having stayed a few times we know the level of care and thought put in to make your stay perfect. The warm welcome from the hosts, the generous welcome pack (tea, coffee etc) good private parking. Aylsham is in easy walking distance with a variety of shops. We booked this time to attend Thursford Christmas Spectacular (brilliant) returning on a chilly November night to a warm and cozy Windmill and watching shooting stars from the top window. Brilliant stay.

Review submitted 4th Nov 2023. Christine.
5 out of 5
Our stay at the Windmill was the Best Ever. With three adults and two young children we wanted “self catering”. With Tesco close by. Everything was catered for with lots of space including a utility room. There was a animal trail quiz for the children and a games cupboard. By the way the children loved it. Very cosy feeling we will be back.

Review submitted 25th Oct 2023. Pete.
5 out of 5
Quirky, comfortable property. A beautifully presented property. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and very cosy. Everything has been provided to make your stay enjoyable. We have been to Norfolk many times over the last few years and this rental was by far the best yet. Tim and Janet are very gracious hosts and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. No hesitation in recommending this property. We hope to return soon.

Review submitted 12th Oct 2023. Katherine.
5 out of 5.
An amazing stay at the Windmill. I have recommend the windmill to many people and friends and family since my return the best short break myself and my partner have ever had. The hosts were amazing lovely friendly couple. They helped to navigate us around the area nothing was to much trouble. The only downside was it wasn’t long enough wished we had booked for longer. We will be returning for a longer period.

Review submitted 11th Oct 2023. Jo.
5 out of 5
Amazing weekend. We stayed here for our friends 60th birthday. There were six adults in our group. We had a fantastic time. The windmill is beautiful. Plenty of space for 6 adults. It’s spotlessly clean. The owners were very welcoming. Aylsham is lovely, walking distance to the town and plenty to do. All in all a truly fantastic stay and I wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

Review submitted 23rd Aug 2023. David.
4.8 out of 5
Unique place. What a great place to stay. It was scrupulously clean and had everything we needed, as well as some extra bits and pieces. It was surprisingly roomy inside. We knew it had been converted over 20 years ago, but it was not dated at all and everything felt still new. The location was ideal, with a number of interesting places within a half hour drive. Would highly recommend.

Review submitted 31st Jul 2023. Alison.
5 out of 5.
Perfect holiday. Accommodation in this converted Windmill is fantastic. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble. Good area to visit all sorts of touristy areas in the vicinity. This was our 2nd visit & we’ll be back again.

Review submitted 20th June 2023.  Mandy.
5 out of 5
Fantastic place! We had a wonderful week at the Windmill, Tim & Janet were great hosts and have done an amazing job in renovating this old windmill in to a beautiful holiday place where you could relax and unwind. The Windmill was fully equipped as a self catering accommodation but was also ideally situated within 5-10 mins walk of shops and restaurants. Can recommend the Black Boys Inn for a meal and The Ratcatchers @ Cawston for a great steak or romantic dinner. Thanks for a great stay and hope to return again some day.

Review submitted 8th June 2023. Terry.
5 out of 5
Super stay. What a wonderful property to stay in. It is in a beautiful quiet location within a short walk of the village with shops ,pubs and restaurants. Janet and Tim are the perfect hosts, making sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. A super stay, thank you.

Review submitted 8th May 2023.  Debby.
5 out 0f 5
Fabulous accommodation. We had a lovely few days break at the Windmill. Everything had been so well thought out, it was extremely clean and just a fabulous place to stay. We will definitely be back.

Review submitted 24th April 2023.  Mike.
5 out of 5
Super spring break.  My wife and I stayed at the windmill together with another couple. Our accommodation exceeded our expectations by a country mile. The rooms were warm, well equipped and maintained. It was apparent that much thought had been given to guests’ requirements. There were several guides to Norfolk to assist in planning our 5 days stay, and the owners were most attentive and helpful. The only issue we needed to report was a small matter relating to the gas stove. The Feathers pub nearby serves good quality beer and Aylsham eateries serve good food. Top marks!

Review submitted 5th April 2023.  Helen.
Excellent in all respects!  Booked for a much needed weekend away my friends and I arrived to a warm welcome from Tim. The welcome also included a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge along with chocolates, fruit cake, tea and milk. The Windmill itself is beautifully fitted out and the towels and bedlinen were very comfortable. We had a great weekend enhanced by the fact that we had everything we could possibly need at the Windmill. We visited a few local places and had a really lovely meal at a local pub, The Black Boys in Aylsham. We will definitely return as it was lovely many thanks to Tim and Janet x

Review submitted 10th Oct 2022.  Paul and Paula
5 out of 5
Idyllic. Most enjoyable. Everything you could wish for. Beautiful place in a quiet and peaceful area. Located centrally to many tourist attractions. Wonderful unobtrusive hosts.

Review submitted 4th Oct 2022. Anne

5 out of 5
We had a lovely week staying in the windmill and exploring Norfolk. It’s in a great location in the small town of Aylsham, close to good shops and amenities, and was a perfect base for us (3 friends) as we wanted somewhere where it would be equally convenient for the coast, the Broads as well as National Trust properties and gardens in rural Norfolk.
We loved the windmill. It had everything we needed, was beautifully renovated, comfortable and quiet. The kitchen and utility room were very well equipped and we liked the open plan living design of the kitchen and living area. Easy, off street parking for two cars, and Janet and Tim were very helpful and welcoming. So glad we chose the windmill for our Norfolk holiday.

Review submitted 15th Aug 2022.  Amy.

5 OUT OF 5
We had a wonderful stay at the windmill. It was a return visit after 13 years, this time we had our 2 young children. It was spotlessly clean and we were made very welcome by the owners. The children loved finding all of the little characters hidden everywhere, especially the mouse and cat. The attention to detail is great with everything we needed. We loved it so much we have already rebooked for next year.

Review submitted 30th Aug 2022.  Salim.

5 OUT OF 5
Perfect location and property for a family holiday in Norfolk. Janet & Tim are perfect hosts and provided us with a wonderful place to spend our holiday. The windmill was more spacious than we had imagined and is very well equipped and maintained. Aylsham was a great location to stay and we can happily recommend The Black Boys Hotel for meals which are very substantial (we couldn’t order a dessert as full after main course). We also enjoyed day trip out to Wroxham on the Bure Valley railway, worth booking a boat trip on Broads from Wroxham in advance as all booked up when we arrived). Great beaches at Cromer & Wells Next The Sea. Would happily rebook the Windmill and stay there again.

Rewiew submitted  29th July 2022.  Mark

5 OUT OF 5

Our visit to Norfolk was in some style, we found this amazing 200-year-old windmill and have fallen in love with it. To my age 2.99  year old granddaughter who on seeing the windmill as she got out the car said, “Wow Rapunzel’s tower”. If you choose to stay here you will want for nothing, it has everything you could wish for to make your getaway pure pleasure. You can shut the front door and just enjoy this beautifully re purposed historical building or as we did adventure hop. Not 20 minutes away in most every direction there is beauty to be found, we visited the seaside town of Croma with its pier, or a short drive to Holt train station to take the steam train to Sheringham and another jewel in Norfolk’s Crown. All these are not 20 minutes’ drive away. Or explorer the tiny market town Aylsham itself. There you will find amazing fish and chip shops, a lovely posh chocolate shop, please try one of the Picasso chocolates, wow. O yes The Black Boy pub in Aylsham, I loved the meet pudding gravy and mash WOW. But if you fancy a walk long or short if you go to the top if the windmill drive and look right you will see the 14ft railway bridge you may have passed under on your arrival, well the train and tracks have long since gone and its now the most amazing walk. Last but by no means last, I would like to thank our hosts Janet and Tim who live next door should you need anything, they set up a lovely welcome pack for us including tea bags so you don’t have to do anything on your arrival. Thank you for allowing people to stay in this amazing windmill.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2022.  Karen
5.0 OUT OF 5.
Fabulous.  Absolutely stunning property, with all you need to hand. Short walk into The beautiful town of Aylsham. Would definitely recommend this property for a weekend/week get away.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2022.  David.
5.0 OUT OF 5
Perfect Break.  Great few days away at the Windmill, could not fault in anyway everything catered for. Stunning property, great hosts, would thoroughly recommend, look forward to staying again in the future.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022.  Debra
4.8 OUT OF 5  Beautiful windmill. 
The windmill is in excellent condition, a real home from home. The hosts make you feel welcome. Would highly recommend it.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022.  David.
Amazing valentines few nights away.  I can’t recommend the mill enough. Janet &Tim are amazing hosts. The location was perfect everything was within walking distance. The property is full of character and charm. 10/10.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022.  sue.
Unique and delightful retreat.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the area of Aylsham, a truly lovely peaceful spot.  Thank you for our welcome.Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022.  Judy
5.0 OUT OF 5    A wonderful place to stay.
The old windmill is beautifully converted into a comfortable holiday home with excellent facilities. It is situated in a convenient location for exploring Norfolk. We were welcomed by the friendly hosts who were available if we needed any help. We would definitely recommend this lovely holiday home.

 

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021.   Lynn
5.0  OUT OF 5    Perfect
We had a wonderful stay. It was perfect for a weekend break. Quirky and comfortable accommodation in a great location.  Thank you

Review 20 Oct 2021.  Danny.
We really can not fault anything about our stay at the windmill and that even includes the weather! Everything we needed was catered for and the accommodation was spotless. Location was ideal, the centre of the village being just a few minutes walk and buses available if you want to explore further. We found the village very friendly and there are excellent places to eat and drink. Janet and Tim have been great , especially as we have had to re jig our stay a couple of times due to COVID. Fabulous hosts, fabulous accommodation, would highly recommend.

Review 17th Oct 2021.  Jeanne.
A comfortable centrally located home from home place to base your holiday. The old windmill is centrally located to provide easy reach for various areas of Norfolk. We were attracted to the windmill because of its very nature. It has been lovingly restored by its owners who have provided various treats to make a comfortable stay even more pleasurable. There were many resources to attract youngsters and adults alike. Nothing had been overlooked. Our hosts were jovial and amenable and it was a pleasure to meet them.

Review 9 Oct 2021.  Sharon.
Perfect in every way.  Had a lovely stay at the windmill .Spotlessly clean , comfortable retreat . Even my very hard to please hubby loved it
Thank you Tim and Janet

30 Sept 2021. Karen
Perfect place for our reunion.  A fantastic location for a reunion of old friends. The Windmill is absolutely lovely- great dining and lounge area for eating and relaxing with everything you could possibly need. It’s quirkiness adds to the experience. Janet and Tim are fabulous hosts and easy to contact for information and help. A great location for North Norfolk, the Broads and Easy walking distance to Aylsham. Can recommend the Black Boy for a superb Sunday lunch. A great long weekend retreat.

Review 25th Sept 2021.  Tim.
Just right.  We were looking for somewhere that three generations of our family aged from 5 to 65 could spend time together after lockdown. Aylsham Mill gave us just what we were looking for. Comfortable accommodation with good facilities in an interesting building where we could all relax. Perfectly located to explore all that North Norfolk has to offer and that appealed to the varying ages of our party, including boating on Broads, the coastline, steam trains, shopping in Norwich and local history. We were given a warm and personal welcome by Tim and Janet and the welcome pack of foods etc. was much more extensive than we’ve commonly seen. A practical feature for a mixed family group was that whereas some other windmills that we looked at only had one toilet / bathroom on the ground floor, Aylsham Mill has a bathroom on each of the ‘bedroom floors’ and also on the ground floor. Overall an extremely enjoyable stay in comfortable surroundings.

Review 12 Sept 2021. Catherine.
Wonderful break. We stayed at this beautifully renovated Windmill for 3 nights. The location is ideal for accessing the Norfolk coast and Aylsham is a lovely little market town which offers all amenities within a 5 minute walk. The hosts made us feel very welcome. Lots of nice goodies and the property was spotlessly clean with lots of homely touches. We enjoyed our stay away in this unique property and would definitely recommend to others.

Review 8 August 2021. Nick
Enchanting stay in Norfolk. Spent a week in Tim & Janet’s delightful windmill in Aylsham. Excellent base for exploring the coast, broads and Norwich. The windmill is excellently equipped – we particularly got a lot of pleasure from the jigsaws. Aylsham itself is delightful with a variety of restaurants, pubs and takeaways. Excellent value for money. Would recommend without hesitation.


Review 21st Sept 2020.  Karen.
Wonderful stay.  Great property with everything you need and more. Ideal location for exploring the area. Very thoughtful welcome treats from excellent hosts.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020.  Joanne
Brilliant place to stay for my husbands 50th birthday weekend. Full of character – loved it and would definitely return.

Review 4th August 2020.  Jenna.
We stayed a week in this beautiful windmill and fell in love. The owners have created a beautiful holiday haven.
There is so much to do in the local area. We were less than 30mins from beautiful beaches, boat hire on the Broads and days out for the family. A 2 minute walk away an old railway line provides beautiful access to the countryside.
The windmill itself has WiFi, a smart TV and a fab kitchen. We used the BBQ twice and enjoyed nights out under the stars spotting the International Space Station.
Bedding, towels and even beach towels were all provided.
I’m a nurse and this was my first week off in a year. It was a much needed family break that exceeded all expectations. So much so we have rebooted for a weekend in November.
Thank you x

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020.  Anne.
A beautiful place and wonderful location.Very special.We were made to feel extremely welcome. We shall certainly recommend this to everyone. A perfect holiday. Thank you. 5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020.  Anita.
We were on tenterhooks…will the Lockdown rules change in time to allow us to stay in the Windmill….luckily they did- and we were the first guests of the summer of 2020.
The Windmill is a perfect place for a family holiday. Beautifully decorated and furnished, well equipped kitchen and good showers. As the brochure says- you only need to pack your personal items and clothes…but as usual, I took everything I thought I would need …I can assure future visitors that you don’t need to take the kitchen sink…they have two….and a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher, two fridges and a freezer …washing tablets/dishwasher tablets are provided!
Lots of lovely touches like milk, cake, biscuits and fresh raspberries provided on our arrival. Janet and Tim are excellent hosts and give you an orientation tour to show you how everything works and give information about the town and local attractions.
The Windmill is a short walk from the pretty town. Lots of interesting shops- a good butchers and a nice tea shop in the town square- parking is free. A Budgen supermarket with its own carpark just off the square.
Definitely booking for next year as we want to try out the BBQ and sit in the garden to drink the local Blackshuck gin…it rained solidly all week…but the gin still tastes good indoors and the sausages cooked perfectly under the grill.
5/5.

Review 13th Jan 2020.  Anita.
A beautifully kept holiday home.
We really enjoyed our stay. How many people have had the experience of holidaying in a windmill? We found that everything we needed was provided as well as some welcome treats. The beds and sofas were comfortable. The whole layout worked very well. The town of Aylsham were it is situated is a charming place with many independent shops. There are many attractions in the local area, our favourite being the National Trust’s Blickling estate. Very welcoming, kind, and professional owners. A great holiday!

Review 4th Jan 2020.  Marilyn.
65th Birthday stay at this beautiful Windmill in Aylsham and will always remember this holiday.
We had the most amazing time staying at this beautiful windmill. Janet and Tim gave us a very warm welcome and surprised us with lovely gifts such as Prosecco, chocolates and cake. The windmill is very clean and nicely decorated and furnished and there is everything you need for a perfect stay. The kitchen has all the gadgets you need, the bedrooms were lovely and warm and the bathrooms were spotless. The village is pretty and an ideal location to visit Norwich and Cromer and I had to see the Redwings horse/donkey sanctuary which is a short walk from the windmill. I would love to go back in the Summer and stay there. If you want something different please stay here.I have not stopped thinking about the windmill and I wish I lived there.

Review 21 Nov 2019. Pat.
Another brilliant stay. Everything is there that you need at this lovingly restored windmill. Good location for a short walk into Aylsham and surrounding places to visit. 5/5.

Review 14 Nov 2019. Pav.
Lovely stay in Norfolk.
We stayed for a long weekend in November as an extended family including a toddler and two grandparents. The stay was fantastic – Tim & Janet were super welcoming and friendly, the windmill was spotless and in great condition and we stayed toasty warm inside during some chilly weather. The property is 10-15 minutes’ walk from the centre of town and we enjoyed some takeaways as well as having everything on hand to cook that we needed. Aylsham has a good size Tesco’s so we didn’t need to bring lots with us. There were also a number of books, games and DVDs in the windmill, and having access to Netflix and iPlayer on the TV was great. There were two dedicated parking spots for us. I struggle to think of anything that could have been done to make our stay any better – Tim & Janet do such a good job and the property is lovely, highly recommended! 4.8/5.

Review 28th Oct 2019. Gaynor.
Home from home.
We have stayed at the Mill many times over the years and it is our preferred holiday accommodation in Norfolk. Tim and Janet are the perfect hosts and provide everything you need for a perfect holiday. Lots of little extras in the kitchen and bathroom make your stay even more enjoyable. We will be going back there again and again.  5/5.

Review 17th Oct 2019. Diane.
We go away somewhere every year, just us three “girls” and always try to find something slightly different every time. The Windmill did not disappoint. It is a really lovely place with everything you should need and more. So much so, that we curled up on the three comfy sofas and watched a film on the Sunday afternoon, so we could get the most of the Windmill and rather than be out and about all the time and not take advantage of the Mill. The owners son works / runs one of the local pubs and due to our long drive did us a takeaway for a our first night – perfect. The location is great for the North and North East coast, where we visited Horsey to see so so many seals on the beach with them being within 10 metres of us and probably a couple of hundred of them. Amazing. The shopping in Sheringham and Holt was lovely not a high street shop insight all small independent shops with many lovely things. (Don’t tell the other half though ;)) Janet was a great host and was very helpful, nothing to much trouble. All in all a great weekend. 5/5.

Review 1st Oct 2019. Sarah.
Lovely base for an activity holiday.
The hosts were easy to contact, full of information to help us make the best of our short stay and included a generous welcome pack. The rooms were well equipped and in very good condition, with good outside space. The building and neighbourhood views are worth a trip in themselves, and this is also an excellent location for cycling and walking paths.  5/5.

Review 17th Sept 2019.  David.
Great place, great fun, good Base for visiting North Norfolk.
We loved the windmill! Ground floor utility/freezer room; 1st floor spacious kitchen/lounge; 2nd floor two bedrooms; 3rd floor king bedroom…great fun racing up and down the spiraling stairs! You get your own offroad parking spot right outside the windmill door. Days out to Wells, Cromer, Norwich and the coast so easy. Lovely hosts Tim and Janet live adjacent and were most helpful. Recommend The Black Boys Hotel in the town (Aylsham) for food, beer and atmosphere, only 10 minutes walk away. Comes with everything you need, all high quality. Its height and solidity make you feel like you’re in a mini castle!  4.8/5.

Review 28th Aug 2019. Gillian.
A special place.
We stayed in the Windmill for four days with family who were visiting from Canada. We thought it would be something special to do and it truly was. Our hosts were charming and so welcoming and they had thought of absolutely everything to make our stay perfect. The welcoming ‘goodies’ were particularly appreciated after our journey. The decor and furnishings were in pristine condition and we had a really comfortable stay. We definitely hope to return in the future.  5/5

Review submitted Saturday 6th July 2019. Anthony.
A unique experience.  A fantastic place to stay with everything you could possibly need. Great location with some great pubs / restaurants only minutes away. Tim and Janet were very approachable and left us to it. Great value for money. Highly recommended. Aylsham Windmill is a credit to them.  5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019.
The Old Windmill is a great place to stay, has everything you need and just in the right location to see the numerous attractions of the area. It’s a unique experience, which everybody enjoyed, even my 17 year old son didn’t mind not having the internet access he normally has, instead taking the opportunity to play board games. We saw everything in the area we planned to and some more, yet there is still more to see and do, would definitely hire again next time we want to visit Norfolk.  5/5.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
Such a unique beautifully restored property. Extremely well equipped and Ideally situated for a holiday/break in the Norfolk Broads. The hosts, Janet and Tim, made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, they even left us treats to enjoy when we arrived. We had an amazing time and loved every minute or our stay in the Windmill. We will definitely be recommending it to all our friends and family and hopefully will be back again soon. 5/5.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
We recently stayed at the windmill with some friends to celebrate our respective husbands special birthdays and what a special place it was.
Handy for walking into the town of Aylsham, lovely informative museum next to the church, great meal at the Black Boy pub.
The windmill, itself was wonderful, lovingly and beautifully restored and had everything you would need provided. A really nice touch was the bottle of prosecco and chocolates left by the owners to help us celebrate the birthdays.
I highly recommend a stay here, it is suitable for family and friends get togethers or just a quiet getaway for two near the Norfolk coast.
Plenty of things to do in the area ie: National Trust properties, Bure Railway or go to the coast.
We will definitely be going back .
The experience should be on everybody’s bucket list.   5/5.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
Excellent accommodation, owners have thought of everything and supplied every gadget you could possibly need.
Loved the games of finding the grey fur mouse etc – a lovely touch which I am sure adults and children alike would love!!
The welcome pack including wine and cake was much appreciated also
All in all a lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.  5/5

An idyllic stay in beautiful accommodation.  Cara 30/07/18

We had such a lovely stay here, from the ease of booking, super communication and arriving at the windmill everything was brilliant. The place is extremely clean and they have thought of everything you might need. Each room is beautifully decorated and beds are very comfy. The location is perfect for days out with the Bure Valley train just round the corner which takes you to a boat that you can go on the Norfolk broads on. We also took a trip to Cromer beach a couple of times which has good facilities, is clean and has a great fish and chip shop. An enjoyable stay that we are already planning to repeat.  5/5

Great hospitality and facilities.     Esther  23/07/18

This was our second time staying at the Windmill and it proved to be the right choice again. The owners were friendly and helpful. The cottage was clean and cosy. Tim and Janet were very approachable and we had a BBQ together. They also offered a good choice of games and cartoons which kept the children entertained! Highly recommended!  5/5

Weekend break.    Kate  21/06/18

The windmill was perfect in every way, wish we could have stayed for longer. Will absolutely come back again.  5/5

Excellent.      Debbie  19/04/18

The old windmill is a wonderful place to stay. We have stayed three times. The owners are so welcoming, and really maintain the windmill to a high standard. There is so much to explore locally, we recently visited cromer, wroxham, bewilderwood, and aylsham.  5/5

Special place booked for a 50th birthday celebration.     Rachel 14/04/18

An exceptional place to stay with everything provided you could wish for. Tim and Janet are gracious hosts and were welcoming and helpful and were kind enough to let us arrive earlier than the allotted time.
They were also kind enough to leave some treats for our visit.
The Windmill has been refurbished to a very high standard and provides excellent comfort. Ideal base for exploring the Coast and other parts of Norfolk and if you have never visited the area before Norwich.
If you are looking for somewhere a bit different then this is the place. Would highly recommend!  5/5

Wonderful stay in a wonderful venue.  21/03/2018 Steve.
The Old Windmill has been re-developed to the highest standard – quality is everywhere – to provide ideal, and unique, family accommodation. All rooms are attractive and comfortable, and every facility is provided.
The Old Windmill has been re-developed to the highest standard – quality is everywhere – to provide ideal, and unique, family accommodation. All rooms are attractive and comfortable, and every facility is provided.  5/5

‘Windymiller’ Sue 08/03/2018
Saved from a fate worse than 4 people being bedless…Janet and Tim came to the rescue on the snowy weekend of 2.2.18.Very clean comfortable and different,quiet and warm…right up our street.  5/5

Something different. Alex  25/02/2018
We had a great four days in the windmill, one of the nicest, quirkiest places we have stayed at. Weather not great but it didn’t matter. Our kids loved it too. Will definitely go again, and recommend to others. Owners very nice to!   5/5

A true credit to British history.  Anne  19/02/2018
A very unique and special place to stay. Extremely well maintained with everything you could require for a break. Attention to detail is evident in the fixtures and fittings. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking to experience a special break. 5/5